BOINC General
Author Message
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#16
RE: BOINC General
If you haven't done so already, set your GPU to run after 2 minutes of idle activity (or whatever the average length of videos you watch on Youtube is), then add your games and important programs to the exclusive applications tab. Makes things easier to manage, and gives you more computing time.

Also, I may be wrong on this, given how long it's been since I last played Minecraft, but you should be able to leave your GPU running while playing it, since that game is more CPU intensive, than GPU.

EDIT: Don't mind me. Just moving posts to a more relevant thread.
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-29, 11:42:29 PM by hiigaran.)
2014-04-29, 11:20:45 PM
Website Find Reply
SXRXE Offline
Donator
*

Posts: 71
Threads: 1
Joined: 2013 Jun
#17
RE: BOINC General
(2014-04-29, 07:28:38 AM)Fir3Chi3f Wrote:
(2013-09-21, 04:09:09 AM)SXRXE Wrote: Not sure if it counts as a milestone but I'm currently WUProp@Home's user of the day! Twilightblush

*Snipped screenshot*

Also, nearly returned 300 WUs for WCG!

I recognize that menu button! Are you using Linux Mint or some other distro with cinnamon?
Linux Mint 16 MATE

(2014-04-29, 11:20:45 PM)hiigaran Wrote: If you haven't done so already, set your GPU to run after 2 minutes of idle activity (or whatever the average length of videos you watch on Youtube is), then add your games and important programs to the exclusive applications tab. Makes things easier to manage, and gives you more computing time.

Also, I may be wrong on this, given how long it's been since I last played Minecraft, but you should be able to leave your GPU running while playing it, since that game is more CPU intensive, than GPU.

EDIT: Don't mind me. Just moving posts to a more relevant thread.
I run GPUGRID all the time, even when gaming. I found it made no difference for me.
I did however find a framerate issue if my CPU is running 8 standalone processes. When it comes to gaming, I change my Muon1 setup from 8 single threaded processes to 1 auto threaded process, that fixes any issue I have while still getting most of my CPU.

Why 8 single threaded Muon1 processes? It's more efficient than 1 auto thread.
Specially Trained Derp

[Image: sigimage.php?w=484539&t=81403693&b=twilight2]
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-30, 04:39:11 AM by SXRXE.)
2014-04-30, 04:37:24 AM
Website Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#18
RE: BOINC General
Since my GPU uses F@H and BOINC, and my CPU uses BOINC and a virtual machine with 5 MJ12 nodes, I cannot play games without having to pause them. The GPU stuff must be paused, even for something as simple as TF2. Things get a little choppy in game. Not by a massive amount, but it's noticeable. TF2 actually loses a heap of performance when my MJ12 VM is running. I'm not sure if it's due to the CPU usage, or the high network load (though even then, it never uses more than 50 Mbps, which is half my limit), but that has to be paused as well. I also have muon1 running, but that's always running. Never affected anything.

Out of games, F@H GPU units never affect anything, but GPU units in BOINC are a bit of a lottery. Some stop me from watching Youtube videos with a smooth frame rate, while others are as unnoticeable as F@H units.

Would be nice if GPU's had processor scheduling...
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2014-04-30, 05:50:51 AM
Website Find Reply
koscum Offline
Cutie Mark Crusader
*

Posts: 39
Threads: 4
Joined: 2014 Apr
#19
RE: BOINC General
Quad 280(X)s eat everything in their way, but gaming comes first; BOINC has to settle for CPU/GPU time while I'm asleep/at work. Sapphire decided to pull a bull<beep> move today as it announced release of 290X Vapor-X just as I started spamming shops and distributors about 290 Vapor-X. I guess I could wait a liitle while longer to get it :3.

Btw, hiigaran, did you fix the update issue on Linux boxes? Running Debian Wheezy, eh? I tried getting updates form Jessie, but it tried to pull in libc and whatnot, breaking few packages in the process. Guess manual update would have to do.
[Image: sigimage.php?w=2856731&t=81403693&b=rainbowdash2]
2014-04-30, 10:34:14 AM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#20
RE: BOINC General
Nope. I've noticed that even if I uninstall and reinstall with apt-get, it will still download an outdated version.
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2014-04-30, 04:23:40 PM
Website Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#21
RE: BOINC General
Has anyone ever received a work unit from RNAworld@Home? I really don't know if the project is giving any out at all, or if they are that rare.

Everyone should add it, on the off chance that someone does get a unit.
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2014-05-07, 09:09:45 AM
Website Find Reply
Spazturtle Offline
Scootalover
*

Posts: 194
Threads: 3
Joined: 2012 Dec
#22
RE: BOINC General
I have around 5 WUs from RNAworld at the moment. They take over 2000 hours each.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601870&c1=4A2463&c2=F2AB5...62F89&bg=1]
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-07, 09:17:45 AM by Spazturtle.)
2014-05-07, 09:17:27 AM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#23
RE: BOINC General
...

...

[Image: 4404038435060033549052550-940700.jpg]

Wat are the requirements for those units?
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-07, 09:29:18 AM by hiigaran.)
2014-05-07, 09:28:52 AM
Website Find Reply
Spazturtle Offline
Scootalover
*

Posts: 194
Threads: 3
Joined: 2012 Dec
#24
RE: BOINC General
You need to have virtual box installed. Other then that its just luck.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601870&c1=4A2463&c2=F2AB5...62F89&bg=1]
2014-05-07, 10:21:50 AM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#25
RE: BOINC General
See above image.

Why do you need a virtual machine to run it?
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2014-05-07, 07:41:45 PM
Website Find Reply
Spazturtle Offline
Scootalover
*

Posts: 194
Threads: 3
Joined: 2012 Dec
#26
RE: BOINC General
Because all the WU run in there own VM.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601870&c1=4A2463&c2=F2AB5...62F89&bg=1]
2014-05-07, 10:06:54 PM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#27
RE: BOINC General
That...doesn't make sense.

Unless you meant their own OS within the VM, in which case...eh, who am I kidding, that still doesn't make sense. Seems counter-productive to require something like that from volunteers.
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2014-05-08, 12:41:49 AM
Website Find Reply
SXRXE Offline
Donator
*

Posts: 71
Threads: 1
Joined: 2013 Jun
#28
RE: BOINC General
When I downloaded BOINC for Windows, it gave me a choice of BOINC + VirtualBox or just BOINC.
http://boinc.berkeley.edu/download.php
I got the BOINC with VB just so I wouldn't have issues with any projects later. (Plus you never know when you need a VB lol)

"2000 hours each"?!?
What kind of deadlines do you get for those?
Specially Trained Derp

[Image: sigimage.php?w=484539&t=81403693&b=twilight2]
2014-05-08, 03:49:05 AM
Website Find Reply
Spazturtle Offline
Scootalover
*

Posts: 194
Threads: 3
Joined: 2012 Dec
#29
RE: BOINC General
Apparently they auto extend as long as they are being worked on.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601870&c1=4A2463&c2=F2AB5...62F89&bg=1]
2014-05-08, 04:10:24 AM
Find Reply
koscum Offline
Cutie Mark Crusader
*

Posts: 39
Threads: 4
Joined: 2014 Apr
#30
RE: BOINC General
(2014-04-30, 04:23:40 PM)hiigaran Wrote: Nope. I've noticed that even if I uninstall and reinstall with apt-get, it will still download an outdated version.
If you're on Debian 7, you might wanna add backports; they updated boinc to 7.2.42 few days ago there and it's working quite nicely.
[Image: sigimage.php?w=2856731&t=81403693&b=rainbowdash2]
2014-05-08, 08:11:48 PM
Find Reply